The Background of My Life

Seyla

My name is Thoeun Seyla. I am 26 years old. I have five brothers and two sisters. My parents besides farming my father was a fisherman and my mother was a selling vegetables in the market.

I started school when I was nine years old. My family were poor because my father stopped working and had a lot of alcohol and he bullied arguing with family almost every day. My mother trying to earn money to support family and childrens study. Until I was 16 years old I decided to  ask my mother stop studying to earn money for help her in Grade 8. And I worked as a construction worker. I can earn money 6000 riels per day. And I have been working for over two years.

I started to learn dance when I was 18 years old. Besides learning dancing I also studied English. Six months later my teacher sent me to dance in a restaurant and I became a dancer there until now.

I started to study sewing when I was 20 years old. I studied in Journeys Within Our Community for four months and then I worked as a tailor in a garment shop. I can earn money for 8,000 to 10,000 riels per day. I saved money and bought sewing machines after I was there for 8 months. And then I was a sewing by myself until now. Now I worked at Human and Hope Association as a sewing teacher because I want to help poor families in my community have a better life. And I want to see them they have a very specific job for money to support their families. And I want to improve my skill and knowledge also.