Human and Hope Association

Writing About My Life

IMG_9240

My name is Koeurn Saroem. I am 24 years old. I was born in 1990. I have four brothers and a sister. The first part of my life I can remember clearly is in 1997. I studied at primary school in my homeland. I just studied grade 1 – 8, because I got very very sick for three years. When I got better I was very lazy to study and I worried so late level, so I did not want to study.

After that, I just lived with my parents and my sister at my homeland and I had some activity, I bought some vegetables and I went to sell at market. When I go to market, I always got up at 4 o’clock in the morning to 11 or 12pm for maybe one year. During that time I don’t know what I can do, and I really wanted to study again, but I think I stopped a very long time ago.

After that, my brother asked me, do you want to learn sewing skills? I said no, I never think about that. But I think again, I told my brother I want to try one time, if I can, I will learn more. In 2008 I learnt sewing at Learn For Life organization for six months. At first, I was worried so much, I think I can not do that skill, but when I start a few weeks I understood so much and I don’t want to believe, but it is really true. I finished studying six months at Learn For Life organization.

I got a certificate and then I still learn design at Reaksmey Sinart Sewing Shop,. I was worried about my money because it is not enough, because I need to give to seamstress and need to buy material which is very expensive.

Fortunately, I got to work part time at JWOC. First time, I was just an assistant teacher there, but after four months I am a teacher there. During three years already I got about that skill better and better, I got work part time at a place more in the afternoon at Khmer for Khmer organization. I start work there from 2011 – 2013, in 2013 I got new place work at HHA. I resigned from KKO and starting working at HHA until now.